Polar FT7-Review

This year on my Bday wish list was the Polar FT7.  Since I have been working out a lot more and tracking my calories on MyFitnessPal.com I wanted a device that could help me track my heart rate and the amount of calories being burned during each workout.  In the gym at my job I noticed a lot of people looking at their watches and mentioning their heart rate or calories.  So after speaking with one of the trainers she put me on to the Polar watches.

To my surprise I was lucky enough to get a new toy on my Bday and I have been using if for 2 weeks now.  I am still learning how to use all of the features but I am enjoying knowing how many calories have been burning.

Features:

  • Displays calories burned
  • The EnergyPointer tells you if the main effect of your training is fitness improvement or fat burning
  • Comes with comfortable textile transmitter and coded heart rate transmission to avoid cross-talk
  • Average and maximum heart rate of training
  • Heart rate – bpm / %
    Heart rate is the measurement of the work your heart does. Heart rate can be expressed as the number of beats per minute (bpm) or as a percentage (%) of your maximum heart rate.
  • HRmax (user set)
  • Manual target zone – bpm (upper limit)
    This feature enables you to define the target zone as you want and is suitable for your training. You can set the target zone for your training as beats per minute (bpm), as a percentage of your maximum heart rate, or as a percentage of your heart rate reserve (HRR%).
  • Polar EnergyPointer
    EnergyPointer is an easy-to-use feature which tells you during a training session if the main effect of your training is fat burning or fitness improvement. EnergyPointer visually indicates the center point between these two training effects, so when you are below that point, you are improving fat burning, and above that point, you are improving your aerobic fitness.
  • Polar OwnCal® – calorie expenditure
    Polar OwnCal calculates the number of kilocalories expended during training. This feature allows you to follow the kilocalories expended during one training session and cumulative kilocalories expended during several training sessions. Some Polar products also estimate the fat-burning percentage (fat% on display), that is, kilocalories expended from fat during a workout which is expressed as a percentage of the total kilocalories burned.
  • Polar OwnCode® (5kHz) – coded transmission

So far I like it I the transmitter that goes around chest isn’t as bad as a thought it would be.  The watch band is a bit tight but as I lose some more weight it will fit better.

What devices are you using to track your heart rate and calories?

Smile Often and Stay Blessed

~Elena~

Fruit and Veggie Recipes (click pics for recipes):

Leave a Reply