It’s Gynecological Awareness Month

Did you know September is Gynecological Awareness Month?

We’ll now you know! 🙂 Take this time to get to know the facts.

According to the CDC there are five main types of cancer that affect a woman’s reproductive organs:

  1. Cervical – begins in the cervix, which is the lower, narrow end of the uterus or the womb
  2. Ovarian – begins in the ovaries, located on each side of the uterus
  3. Uterine – begins in the uterus, the pear-shaped organ in a woman’s pelvis where the baby grows when a woman is pregnant
  4. Vaginal – in the vagina, which is the hollow, tube-like channel between the bottom of the uterus and the outside of the body
  5. Vulvar – begins in the vulva, the outer part of the female genital organs

Each gynecological cancer is unique, having different symptoms and risks associated with it. All women are at risk and the risk increases with age. When detected early, treatment is most effective.

Here are symptoms associated with each:

It’s important to pay attention to your body and know what YOUR NORMAL is. See your doctor if you have abnormal bleeding or the above warning signs last for two weeks or longer and are not normal to you.

I had no idea there was a month dedicated to gynecological cancers and awareness, let alone what each meant and the symptoms associated. I’ve made note of somethings to ask my doctor on my next visit and you may want to as well. Be in the know and know your body for yourself.


Centers For Disease Control and Prevention

For information on prevention and screening click here

For information on treatment click here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s