Family Photos 101: Candid vs Studio

It’s that time of year for the Robinson family – the joyous time when we take our family photos. ๐Ÿ™‚ J loves taking family photos, as do I but this year I decided to take it a step further and do something different.

Instead of the usual studio photo shoot I elected for a photographer and to take pictures outside and do more of the candid family photo shoot. Well now my nose is literally in the air and I have snubbed studio shoots for-ev-er. (I love Sandlot) ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Seriously, we hadย  the most fun taking these pictures than any studio session before.

I’m lucky enough to work with some very talented people. My co-worker has a side photographer business called Photos & Company was willing to shoot my family. We had a consultation on where we wanted to take photos. We decided on a local park, that way Yus could have some fun! And then the inevitable happened. Zach, the photographer, said, “kids looks great in prints!”

OMG! WTHeck are we going to wear! ๐Ÿ™‚ So, of course I googled family photos and I stumbled upon this great blog Cardigan Empire. The author just happens to style for Anthropologie and she posted some great articles on “How to Dress for Family Photos“. JACKPOT!

I headed to my polyvore and put together two family looks. I became slightly obsessed. ๐Ÿ™‚

Look #1

Family Photo Option #1

Look #2

Family Photo Option #2

So, clearly what I finally decided on was a combination of both looks. Either way, we had so much and are looking forward to future shoots with our new family photographer. HA! that just sounds cool ‘family photographer’.

Do you do studios shoots or candid shoots? Which do you like better?

Leave a Reply

