FFM Spotlight-Ashley Redwood

What does it take for someone to get serious about weight loss? Well, for me, it took a job I hated! I hated it so much that I had gained 60 lbs in almost three years from the stress from it. I had complained, complained, complained. Applied, applied and applied for more jobs. Soon after, someone told me I needed to give it to God. So I did. And to show Him I was serious, I promised if he granted me a new job, I’d lose the stress of the old. Months later, I’d gotten the job. Obviously God didn’t think I was serious enough so he gave me another motivator because a week later I found out I was pregnant.

I started being mindful of what I was putting into my body at that moment. I started at 305 and at the height of my pregnancy I was 325. After the baby arrived, I nose dived into it. I breastfed for a month which helped me lost the pregnancy weight.

August came and it was back to reality. With a new baby, going to the gym became more of a nuisance than an aid. So, I brought the gym to me. I would walk around my apartment complex (a mile) and started ordering DVDs, games and weights. I have Leslie Sansone’s 5 Really Big Miles, Shaun T’s Hip Hop Abs and Zumba Fitness and Just Dance 4 for Wii. I took 15-30 min walks at work during my lunches and/or breaks at work.

I also started meal planning. Before I did grocery shopping, I would write down things I had no problem with eating for at least 5 days of the week, including snacks. Soup, lean meats, VEGGIES, almonds, pepperoni and cheese sticks, Greek yogurt, etc. The biggest thing I did was join myfitnesspal.com so that I could track what I was putting into my body.

            Six months later, I have lost a total of 45 pounds!! I have bad days. I have plateaus. I have weeks where I have lost no lbs but inches…but, I stick with it. I press through. I’m not done yet but…if I can do it … anyone can!

Ashely

Ashely

Leave a Reply

