Potty Training Success: Boys Addition

If you have been a reader of our blog you’ll know that I have been mentally wanting to potty train Yus since October. But unfortunately for me I let all the negativity that comes with potty training boys vs girls set in and it deterred me from taking the next step.

Check out my previous potty training post

It wasn’t until my recent trip back East to visit my mom and Aunt Glo that I received the encouragement and most needed instructions to get the job done. Although, I’ve known and witnessed the instructions twice (with my godbrother and cousin) it’s nothing like hearing them when your ready.

The Timeline:

I went to visit my family the 3rd weekend in March. Motivation central 🙂

potty chart

Yus loves his chart & stickers!

Days 1 & 2: Yus and I stayed in the house Saturday & Sunday the 4th week of March. I took him to the bathroom once he woke up and every 30 minutes to an hour after that depending on when he had something to drink. I also printed off this sweet Thomas the Tank Engine potty chart and got him Elmo stickers. So, every time he went to the bathroom he picked a sticker and placed it on the chart. Now initially I wanted him to put the stickers in the correct places and then I realized as long he was staying dry who cares where the stickers go on the chart. Just have fun!

Days 3-7: Yus went to school in underwear on Monday + waterproof underwear 🙂 His teachers kept him on a schedule and he only had one accident the entire week at school. It’s great to have support from the school that way regression is harder.

Day 8 & 9: This past weekend was back to our regularly scheduled program for Saturday and Sunday was our usual church schedule and we had Easter dinner at a restaurant and I am pleased to say both days went without an accident. 🙂

According to my potty training experts and sources (my mommy and Aunt Glo) we should be officially potty trained in a month and the next step is no pull up at night. 🙂

Thanks mom and Aunt Glo for the encouragement and motivation!! Nothing to it but to do it!!

Do you have any potty training success stories? Share them in the comments below, on Facebook or @FitFlyMamasNWR

Leave a Reply

