FFM Spotlight: Melissa Couther

Well, back in 2010, I went on a fabulous vacation to Las Vegas. When we returned, I was looking back through my pictures and was not happy with what I saw. That is when I began to think about how I could change the way I looked as well as the way I was feeling. So I joined a gym and was going on a consistent basis. However, being in a relationship with a WONDERFUL man that could cook and was spoiling me at every chance he got, I kind of fell off the wagon.
At the beginning of 2011 I started my journey yet again. I changed the way I ate and picked my workout routine again. I was going pretty consistently and lost about 20lbs. During this time I was having issues with what I thought was a reoccurring cyst on my lower back. It was causing me so much pain that I could not sit down and it was hard for me to walk. Well, my doctor informed me that the only way to keep it from coming back was to have a surgery that would remove the track that was causing it to come back. Of course, my gym visits again came to a screeching halt. I was out of work for a month and was told that I could not sit or stand for extended periods of time as I was still in the healing process.
Two weeks after my surgery my now husband decided to propose (11-11-11). It was a wonderful surprise considering all I was going through at the time. I was in recovery from my surgery from October 2011 to March 2012. I was unable to do any exercise until March! Of course that was killing me because I knew I had to get in a wedding dress in a few months. But once my recovery was over, I got back in it and am living life to the fullest.
What keeps me going? The way I feel after I workout…The way I look after consistently working out…My desire to have a healthy life in order to expand my family :-). I am continuing this journey and I still have a little ways to go.
These pictures range from August 2012 to June 2013
Melissa Couther 1Melissa Couther 2Melissa Couther 3Melissa Couther 4Melissa Couther 5
Leave a Reply

