Confessions of a Complacent Mama

Does this happen to you? You reach a big number say 10-20 lbs lost and you just get overly confident and start slowly throwing out the limits/rules you put in place that helped you succeed and reach that first or second goal. 

scale

Sept. 2012 pre baby #2 weight — goal weight 9-12 months post baby 25 more pounds to go 🙂

This is me!

It’s currently happening as we speak. I know you haven’t been seeing my pink FT4  polar watch on social media lately and you’ve probably been wondering, “What in creation happened to this mama”. Well, this is my truth. I’m Nkoyo and I get complacent. {Hi! Nkoyo} 🙂

Seriously, it’s like I smash a goal and forget to keep going. So instead of riding my bike to the top of the hill and then leaning over so I can continue and bike down, I just sit there. My mental game says it’s over even though I can see that I still have more to do. SMH!

I have come to the realization that I see myself in the mirror as a smaller more fit version of what I currently am. It’s a gift and a curse. The gift is that I see myself smaller and know it can be a reality. The curse is that I see myself as this smaller version of myself now, like right now. 😛 “Silly Nkoyo, tricks are for kids” is what I keep hearing but I can’t seem to ride down the hill.

I know I have to take some drastic measures for the next 20+ days so that I can continue on my steady decline and reach my ultimate goal. So, I have to say adios to my scale until Oct. 22. So I can complete these next 30 days of the #ffm90days challenge and finish strong.

Drastic measures:

  • get back on the workout train
  • say NO to fried food
  • swap my chocolate for fruit
  • don’t step on the scale until Oct. 22nd

Do you ever get complacent with your fitness progress? Let us know in the comments below, on Facebook or Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Confessions of a Complacent Mama

  1. I find that as soon as someone notices that I’ve lost weight I throw all caution to the wind and eat everything in site… well maybe not everything but pretty darn close. This weekend in particular I had loads of compliments so by the time evening came I had gone through a Chinese take out and around 3 chocolate bars. Back on track today…

    • YESSSSS!!!!!! That is me! I almost like it better when the outside world (minus my hubs) can’t see my change because then I won’t stop working hard to get to my goals.

  2. I definitely go through periods where I “phone in” my workouts. I rationalize with it’s better than doing nothing, but really it’s not helping me reach my goals. So I found a couple of classes at my local gym that kick my booty. Not only does it prevent me from “phoning in” workouts, but it gets me motivated to improve so I challenge myself on my own workouts too.
    Best of luck with your goals!

  3. Nkoyo, great job on your success!!!! You will continue, I have faith in you and I know you will do this. So go on down that hill like the champion that you are. Lovingly, Mommmy.

Leave a Reply

