Hot Chocolate 5K Recap

IMG_5236

Can you tell that I’m nervous?

If I had to describe my first race since having mr. smiles the word I’d use would be AWESOME. Seriously, it was great even though I was nervous because my training for the race was very lack luster, meaning I didn’t run at all. My cardio workouts consisted of strictly Zumba and no running. I don’t by any means recommend that training method as my legs are still on FIRE.

The RaceIMG_5235

I arrived at Grant Park at 7am and found my way to corral Q. There was a chill in the air but not unbearable at all. I was prepared for the cold weather with my gloves and ear warmer headband (purchased at the expo) and I wore my vest plus a long sleeve running shirt. What I wasn’t prepared for was the wait time, 7:45am came and went and I still felt like we weren’t moving fast enough towards the start line.  At 8:10am the buzzer sounded and the people in front of me took off and so did I.  I made it to the overpass on Columbus and I was still running and when we made the left turn on Lower Wacker, your girl was still running. I made it almost the full first mile before I went into my power walk. I was hoofing it during my power walk moments because I didn’t want to fall to far behind pace. I did a slow jog mixed with power walking until I could see the finish line and smell the chocolate. 🙂

IMG_5242 Post Race Party

This is actually the first Post Race Party I’ve attended. It was a nice walk from the finish line to Butler Field but well worth it. I grabbed 2 Gatorade cups along the way and the walk helped me get my legs together as they felt like jello. 🙂 The party consisted of a kids zone, tent with Hot Chocolate 15/5k paraphernalia and of course the finishers mugs. I handed the volunteer my slip from my bib and she handed me the best mug ever. There was a hot cup of hot chocolate in the center, a mini banana, chocolate sauce, mini rice krispie treat, mini wafers, mini pretzels and a large marshmallow.  Being the great mom I am, I sipped the delicious hot chocolate on my walk to get a cap back to my car and I saved the treats so I could share them with Yus. He was very excited! We dipped and ate our treats as he told me how J let him lay in our bed with mr. smiles and they all watched Sprout together while I was running. 🙂

IMG_5245

I was so happy to see the end 🙂

IMG_5248

yummy finishers mug

IMG_5250

finishers mug in hand

Would you run the Hot Chocolate 5k again? 

In a heart beat. It has rejuvenated my wanting to run races and I’m looking forward to a PR in next years race. I want to get better with each race that I run.

hotchocolate

my nike+ race activity cut off before I finished

hotchocolate results

results – can’t wait to see my improvement

It’s not too late to find and sign up for a Turkey Trot near you. 🙂 Check our Instagram @fitflymamas for more race day pictures.

2 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate 5K Recap

  1. Pingback: Fit Fly Mamas: 15k Training | Fit Fly Mamas

  2. Pingback: Hot Chocolate 15k Recap | Fit Fly Mamas

Leave a Reply

