Do Overweight People Burn More Calories?

Yes, they (we) do.

You might think it’s strange me even asking such a question or even doing the subsequent Google search to find the answer. But I did it because my friend has literally been driving me up the wall for the past 3 days trying to figure out, how we are doing the same workouts, for the same amount of time, at the same intensity, with the same heart rate monitor, and I’m burning calories or as KDB but it crushing the calories I burn.

We’ll I was completely over her saying, “My watch is broken” or “I’m so done with this”, that I typed Do Overweight People Burn More Calories. I found very quickly that the answer is YES.

According to Livestrong.com and The American Council on Exercise heavy people do burn more calories than lighter people. The caveat is that muscle still burns more than fat. For instance if a 150 lb woman with high body fat were workout with a leaner, muscular 150 lb woman at the same intensity, the lean woman would burn more calories as fat is dead weight.

When your overweight or muscular, it takes more energy to get your body moving and you burn more calories, according to AZCentral.com.

So, if numbers motivate you and your overweight get out there and move. The amount of calories you burn in a 30 minute sweat session just might surprise you. And as the pounds start to come off, don’t get discourage. Strap on a weight vest or wrist and ankle weights to boost your calorie burn and tone your muscles at the same time.

Have you ever worked out with a friend and been slight discouraged by the numbers? How did you over come it? Tell us in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

