Daniel Fast Recap

So, today is day 21 and the last day of my Daniel Fast. I have to admit there where times I didn’t think I was going make it. Going from eating meat with almost every meal to eating no meat at all was tough. It was harder than I thought to limit the processed foods and sugars but I survived and it feels so great.

I finally started and finished a devotional and was more diligent in my prayers than I had been last year. I’m so grateful for the Daniel Fast. It has strengthen my relationship with God and changed my relationship with food forever. It has forced me to incorporate more veggies into my diet and step outside my limited food box. And when I say step out, I mean waaaay outside the box.

Here is a peak at the foods I ate – I didn’t take as many pictures as I thought.

Breakfast:

1/4 cup grits w/ fruit

Lunch: Spinach salad w/ veggie burger & sliced tomatoes

IMG_1306

Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger

Dinner: Teriyaki Twist Bowl minus the Teriyaki sauce

IMG_1212

from Freshii

Snacks:

Homemade trail mix (sliced almonds, raisins, chopped walnuts)

Fruit

Almond milk smoothie w/ frozen fruit

IMG_1251

Strawberry mango smoothie

Here are some of my other new fave dishes I tried.

IMG_1301

Taco salad made w/ red quinoa, black beans, & corn

IMG_1276

Whole grain pasta w/ sautéed spinach & sun-dried tomatoes

IMG_1267

Curry lentil & quinoa soup w/ red peppers & sweet potatoes

I would definitely do the Daniel Fast again. It was great for my body and overall health and giving me the will power I needed again to say no to bad foods and embrace the goodness of foods that I didn’t normally eat.

Have you ever tied the Daniel Fast? How did you feel, what did you learn about yourself during those 21 days? Let me know @FitFlyMamasNWR 

Leave a Reply

