Fit Fly Mamas: 15k Training


So, you completed your first 10k training.
Now what?

Well, I’m going to train for a 15k, duh! 🙂

I had planned to post my weekly training for the Chicago 10k on the blog but instead posted all my training to IG. 🙂 I trained with the Nike+ Running App. I did the beginner 10k training and started 2 weeks early to account for some traveling I knew we’d be doing this summer. I’m so glad I stuck to a training program because I ran an awesome first 10k. TOOT TOOT 🙂13.1

So, since training paid off. I’ve decided to use the 13.1 training for the Hot Chocolate 15k that I’ll be running November 9th. I ran the Hot Chocolate 5k race last year. It’s a nice race and this year there is a finishers medal for the 15k. I really do think I run for the BLING these days. 🙂

This time around I’ll be more diligent and compile my training weekly in a post on Sundays, as well as post my runs/workouts on IG.  Training starts Monday, and I couldn’t have planned that better as I’m finding myself at lost for what to do or how long to run. I’m a stickler for schedules when it comes to my workouts. It just works for me.

It’s a 12 week plan with the last day of training being RACE DAY! 🙂 The first 3 weeks follow the same schedule as the 10k training:

Monday: Run

Tuesday: Run

Wednesday: Cross Train

Thursday: Rest/Stretch

Friday: Run

Saturday: Run

Sunday: Rest/Walk

Then it kicks up a notch and I have 5 run days, 1 cross training day, and a rest day. Most of my longs runs are on Saturdays which is perfect for me. There are a few Tuesday long runs which I might have to split between the other run days to complete that weeks mileage. Other than that it’s a really doable program for me. I’m finding that training can be time-consuming but it doesn’t have to be. Hence why, my current race goal is only a half marathon. 🙂

I can’t wait to start sharing my training!

Leave a Reply

